State-Division (Rakhine State)

rakhine stateRakhine sate located in the Western part of Myanmar and Sittway is the capital of that state.

This state covers an area of 36352 sq-km, and the pupulation is over 2.7 million.

The majority of the population is Rakhine, and some muslin and Bamars.

An interesting archaeological site after Bagan (1044-1287 AD) period is situated in Rakhine State.

Mrauk-U, the ancient City of Rakhine (Arakan) Kingdom (15th Century), is known for its old temples with paintings of Indian cultural influence. It is reached by boat along Kalatan River from Sittwe (Akyab), the capital of Rakhing State. A boat trip takes about 5 hours.

The high-lights of Mrauk-U are the massive Shitthaung-paya a curiously remarkable temple with countless Buddha Images and relief, the fortress-like passages; an octagonal temple Andaw-thein with its unique stone carvings Archaeological Museum.

Eight kilo-meters to the north of Mrauk-U are Wethali. another ancient capital (8th to 10th centuries A.D.) There is one more ancient capital called Dan-nya-wad-di which is about 22 km to the north of we-tha-li.

It is famous state for the best beach Ngapali which can be reached from Yangon by air or by land.

Ayeyawaddy Division Bago Division  Chin State Taninthayi Divison
Mandalay Division Kayin State Kaya State  Magway Division
  Sagaing Division Rakhine State Mon State  Yangon Division
  Kachin State Shan State